Thunderbird neckdive fix

Posted on September 14, 2010

1


Neckdive is the biggest bane of cheap Thunderbird replicas. It can cause huge problems to one’s left arm, neck and back. Why the neck dive occurs is usually a sum of many parts but the main reason is the location of the strap button. Usually on basses the upper horn helps to place the strap button and also the player closer to the headstock. Reverse Thunderbirds are famous for not having that particular horn. Well, anyway, here’s one way to help get rid of the neckdive problem. At least how I did it.

First I removed the strap button from it’s original position. I’ve never really understood why they keep putting the strap button in that position. It’s absolutely retarded. Either Epiphone/Gibson have no product development or/and Gibson counts on a questionable strategy that all these little flaws on Epiphones make us invest 1500 € for a REAL Gibson. Well, not me.

After that I unswcrewed the lower screw of the neckplate. The one on the neck’s side.  Some people or actually the majority prefer to just drill a hole in the middle of the neckplate and set the strap button there but I chose this way since my drill couldn’t get through the damn plate. If you choose to make a new whole you should drill it as close to the neck as you can.

Next I attempted to get the neckplate screw through the strap button hole. And who would’ve guessed: I ran into a problem. The hole in the strap button was way too tight for the screw to get through. So again, I was forced to use violence. I took the drill again and made the damn hole a little bigger. Took some time and got the table covered in some cool strap button glitter but it worked. I got the screw through it.

After that I just screwed the strap button into it’s new position and voila. The neck should now be in a better angle now and the headstock should be slightly closer to the player. If you want more ways to negate the neck dive you might want to consider moving the back strap button a little higher, get a high mass bridge, buy a wide leather strap and replace the tuners with lighter ones. At least Schaller sells those extra light tuners.

Posted in: Bass